Representing City and County Governments of the San Francisco Bay Area

ABAG

- To: Governing Board San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority
- Fr: Kenneth Moy Legal Counsel, ABAG
- Dt: November 12, 2013
- Re: Governing Board At Large Seat

The San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority (SFBRA) was created pursuant to Government Code (GC) Section 66700, *et seq.* Under GC Section 66703, the Governing Board of SFBRA is comprised of seven individuals, six of whom are to be elected officials from jurisdictions and local entities as defined in that section. Under GC Section 66703(6)(A), one of the seats is reserved for an elected official from a bayside city or county¹. The Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) appoints the members of the Governing Board.

In April 2013, Supervisor Dave Cortese of the County of Santa Clara was reappointed to a four year term on the Governing Board representing bayside cities and counties. In November 2013, Supervisor tendered his resignation from the Governing Board to the President of ABAG.

The President of ABAG has sent a request to all the bayside cities and counties stating that the at large seat on the Governing Board was open and requesting letters of interest be submitted prior to November 29, 2013. ABAG's President intends to make an appointment and have it ratified by the ABAG Executive Board at its meeting scheduled for December 5, 2013. The term of office for the successor remains the same as for Supervisor Cortese and will end in April 2017.

¹ GC section 65701(c) states: "Bayside city or county" means a city or county with a geographical boundary that touches San Francisco Bay, and includes the City and County of San Francisco.